Archives and Special Collections Partner Institutions: Home

Charlotte Mecklenburg Library Archives and Special Collections has many partners around the Charlotte Metro area and across the state. For additional help with research, genealogy, and other special collections requests, we maintain a list of libraries and cultural heritage organizations that may be of help to you below.

• Central Piedmont Community College Archives (print and digitized materials related to CPCC and its history in the County)
• Charlotte History Toolkit (Guide to using freely available sources to research the history of your own home or neighborhood)
• Charlotte-Mecklenburg Historic Landmarks Commission (Information about historic buildings in Mecklenburg County)
• Charlotte Observer Digital Archives (Full run of Observer microfilm. Requires Library Card to access)
• CM Story (Digitized images and exhibits on Charlotte and Mecklenburg County)
• History South (Large cache of writing and research conducted by Tom Hanchett)
• Johnson C. Smith University Archives (Special focus on the Black experience and neighborhoods of Charlotte)
• UNC Charlotte Archives (Charlotte-specific archives)
• Polaris 3G (Mecklenburg County Real Estate/Property Information)
• Mecklenburg County Register of Deeds (Deeds recorded on or after 01 March 1990)
• Meck ROD Historical (Deeds recorded on or before 28 February 1990)

• State Library of North Carolina – Genealogy Section
• West Boulevard Branch Library (Circulating genealogy collection, Family Search affiliate access, Library card required for computer use)
• Olde Mecklenburg Genealogical Society (books, charts, maps, and other resources valuable for researching family histories)
• Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society(AAHGS) Charlotte Chapter (community focused on African American genealogy)
• All CM Library branches have access to Ancestry Library Edition, which includes all Ancestry and Fold3 materials for free (Library card required for computer use)
• Many county public libraries in North Carolina have local history sections that can help with genealogy questions

• DigitalNC (Includes statewide digitized maps, newspapers, yearbooks, city directories, etc.)
• Special Collections Research Center at NC State University (Focus on agricultural, engineering, architecture, etc. history of North Carolina)
• State Archives of North Carolina
• State Library of North Carolina - Government and Heritage Library
• Wilson Library at UNC Chapel Hill (Includes the Southern Historical Collection)

• Richland County Public Library – Walker Local and Family History Center
• York County Public Library – Local History Area

• Charlotte Center for Legal Advocacy
• Free Legal Answers (NC Bar Association)
• Law Help NC
• Legal Aid NC
• North Carolina General Statutes
• North Carolina Administrative Code