Charlotte Mecklenburg Library has the tools you need for any research or informational need. The Library provides free access to newspaper and magazine articles, homework help, genealogy, job and career help, financial resources, and more. These resources help you find quality materials that you can trust. Please note, some resources require your library card or ONE Access ID number and PIN to access resources outside the Library.
LEARNING
Get free homework help from a live, online, qualified tutor—up to 15 free tutoring sessions each week! All you need is a library card and an Internet connection.
NEW HOURS: 3pm-11pm
K-12 students can get help in English or Spanish in a wide range of subjects including math, science, English, social studies and essay review.
Suite of highly-acclaimed eLearningsolutions which provide interactivetutorials, practice tests, e-books,flashcards and articles for academic skill-building, standardized test preparation,career development and more.
Learn the essential skills needed to live and work in the 21st century. From Microsoft Office and email to reading, math, work skills, and more...125 tutorials, including more than 1,100 lessons, videos, and interactives, completely free.
An online education experience offering over 540 courses in subjects like entrepreneurship, technology, health, career assistance, and more.
LinkedIn Learning is an online educational site that includes over 3,000 courses (and over 130,000 videos) in popular fields like web design, web development, IT, education/instruction, media production, and business.
Provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language.
RESEARCH
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for gathering information and starting research. Information on topics come from from hundreds of full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and subject-specific titles. This resource also includes 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Articles, primary sources, websites and graphics to support K-12 students with research, study and homework.
CQ Researcher provides in-depth, unbiased coverage of political, social, environment, education, technology, and health issues in the form of research reports. Each reader-friendly report is researched and written by seasoned journalist.
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
Dynamic and interactive online encyclopedia for young students to adults. Includes Spanish version, as well as access to e-books for homework help and research projects, grades K-12.
Looking for a good book, but not sure where to start? Books and Authors is a literary collection that lets you browse by character, subject, location and time period.
CAREER READINESS
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Create resume content with a step – by – step resume writing guide. Customers can format their resume by selecting a design template and font. Resumes can be downloaded and emailed in multiple formats.
Within NCcareers.org, users will identify their skills/interests; explore occupations and local job/employer needs; identify education and training opportunities and prepare to enter/re-enter the job market. The system provides clear, consistent information about North Carolina’s current and future job needs and education/training offerings to all, starting with students in middle school and continuing through adulthood.
LibGuide: Careers contains helpful information on how to search for a job, job search preparation, books and resources available at Charlotte Mecklenburg Library and more.
Free practice tests for the North Carolina DMV Permit, Road Sign test, NC DMV Motorcycle test, and access to the NC Driver's Handbook in English and Spanish.